## THE DEPARTMENT OF THE AMERICAN CONFERENCE OF PHARMACEUTICAL FACULTIES

EDITOR'S NOTE:-

The Cleveland meeting of the Conference was one of the most notable in its history. A most excellent program was given and the inspiration which came from contact with each other and from men from the outside, such as Ex-Secretary of War, Newton D. Baker, will long be felt

The chairman hopes in the near future to print in full these inspiring addresses. It was thought best to record in the present issue a number of the reports which discuss the business and educational affairs of the Conference.

RUFUS A. LYMAN, Chairman Executive Committee and Conference Editor.]

SUMMARY OF THE PROCEEDINGS OF THE AMERICAN CONFERENCE OF PHAR-MACEUTICAL FACULTIES, 1922 MEETING.

The twenty-third annual meeting of the American Conference of Pharmaceutical Faculties was held at the Hotel Statler, Cleveland, Ohio, August 14-15, 1922. Delegates were present from thirty-seven member colleges located in twenty-seven states. President Clair A. Dye of Ohio State University College of Pharmacy presided at all sessions.

President Dye in his address discussed practical experience requirements, prerequisite legislation, abolition of state boards, research, the Syllabus, non-Conference schools, and federation of pharmaceutical associations. In discussing prerequisite requirements and reciprocal registration, he said that he believed that adoption of high school graduation as a minimum requirement would bring about the uniformity which is necessary, if reciprocity is to mean what it should. He submitted a plan for handling practical experience requirements for registration. Briefly, it is to give the examination when college work is completed, issue an assistant's certificate, if the candidate passes, and when the practical experience requirement is completed grant a certificate of registration without further examination. The question of practical experience is so important that the Conference decided to refer it to the Committee on Relations of the Colleges to the Boards for study, a report to be given next year. President Dye directed attention to the tendency of some state governments to combine various boards and commissions and to the signal failure of the plan in one state. He said, "We should not only be constantly but aggressively alert to counteract any movement which will tend to remove pharmacy from the control of pharmacists and thus block our efforts to raise the standards of pharmacy, educationally, commercially and ethically." Inasmuch as the 1200-hour minimum requirement for the twoyear course, as outlined in the Syllabus, affords a basis for unfair comparison of Conference schools with non-Conference ones as well as the standard for law requirement, President Dye suggested that the minimum should be made not less than 1500 hours and a recommendation to that effect was adopted.

The report of the secretary-treasurer, Theodore J. Bradley, showed that forty-eight colleges are members of the Conference and that the balance in the treasury is \$1158.02.

Chairman Rufus A. Lyman, in his report for the Executive Committee, stated that the number of new students registering in Conference colleges in 1921-1922 was 3942, which was over 500 more than in the preceding year. Those having four years of high school, or more, numbered 2550; those having three years of high school, 385; those having two years, 472. Analysis of these figures indicates a marked increase in those having four years or more of preparation and also those having three years and a decrease in two-year students. It was reported that the School of Pharmacy of Valparaiso University had been admitted to membership during the year.

The Executive Committee made the following recommendations and they were adopted:

1. That a transcript of a student's record in a school which he is leaving be required before he is permitted to register in a second school.

2. That a certificate of honorable dismissal from the first school be a requirement for admittance to a second school.

Vol. XI, No. 10

- 3. When above conditions are complied with it is optional on the part of the second school whether a student be admitted.
- 4. That \$200 per annum, beginning January 1, 1922, be appropriated for the support of the Conference Section in the Journal of the American Pharmaceutical Association.
- 5. That the length of the school year be increased from a minimum of 25 weeks to 30 weeks.

The report of the Pharmaceutical Syllabus Committee was received. Chairman Theodore J. Bradley stated that the new edition of the Syllabus will appear in a few weeks and directed attention to the fact that the Syllabus "should not, and does not pretend to say that anyone must follow it. It is suggestive and tries to be helpful but is not in any way obligatory."

A dinner was given by the Conference in honor of Dr. H. H. Rusby and following the dinner Dr. Rusby told some of his personal experiences on his South American trip. At this same session Dr. Caswell A. Mayo gave an illustrated lecture on the physical plants of the schools holding membership in the Conference.

Reports of standing committees were received as follows:

Committee on Faculties, C. E. Caspari, Chairman.

816

Committee on Curriculum and Teaching Methods, W. J. Teeters, Chairman.

Committee on Activities of Students and Alumni, Zada M. Cooper, Chairman.

Committee on Uniform College Bulletins, J. A. Koch, Chairman.

Committee on Relations of Pharmacy Schools with Other Professional Schools, L. S. Blake, Chairman.

Committee on Relations of the Colleges with the Boards, Jacob Diner, Chairman.

Committee on Examination Questions, G. C. Diekman, Chairman.

Committee on Research, Albert Schneider, Chairman.

Reports of the following special committees were received:

Committee to Prepare and Distribute Information on Prerequisite Legislation, W. B. Day, Chairman.

Committee to Urge that the Carnegie Foundation Investigate the Pharmacy Schools of the United States, W. F. Rudd, Chairman.

At the third session the Honorable Newton D. Baker addressed the Conference, telling something of the educational work undertaken for our army after the armistice. In closing he urged that pharmaceutical faculties recognize the dignity of their relation to all education.

The following papers were presented: "Dispensary and Hospital Teaching in the Medical College of Virginia," by W. G. Crockett; "The Hospital Dispensary and the College of Pharmacy," by W. J. Teeters; and "The Service Features of a College of Pharmacy Library," by H. V. Arny. At the second session, Edward Kremers gave a talk on "A Pharmaceutical Apprenticeship—a Possible Renaissance," and another at the third session, on "How We Get Our Students to Use the General University Library."

The following officers were elected for the ensuing year:

President: Charles H. LaWall, Philadelphia, Pa.

Vice-President: Charles H. Stocking, Ann Arbor, Mich.

Secretary-Treasurer: Zada M. Cooper, Iowa City, Ia.

Executive Committee: Rufus A. Lyman, Lincoln, Nebr., Chairman: Wortley F. Rudd, Richmond, Va.; Julius A. Koch, Pittsburgh, Pa.; Wilber J. Teeters, Iowa City, Ia.; Charles B. Jordan, Lafayette, Ind.

Members of Syllabus Committee: Theodore J. Bradley, Boston, Mass.

Representative to National Drug Trade Conference: Evander F. Kelly, Baltimore, Md. Submitted by Zada M. Cooper, Secretary-Treasurer.

REPORT OF THE COMMITTEE ON PHARMACEUTICAL SYLLABUS.\*

To the American Pharmaceutical Association:

The Syllabus Committee respectfully submits the following report for 1921-1922.

<sup>\*</sup> This report is made to coöperating organizations. The report to the Association was approved, referred to Council, and contribution continued.